To nominate an individual, fill out the Awards Nomination form and email to [email protected]
no later than July 1st (AUGUST 15th).


Michael P Cyprian Award

There shall be one award per year for the Michael P Cyprian Lister of the Year Award. Any individual may nominate anyone to the VALA Awards Committee in writing, no later than July 1st (AUGUST 15th) of each year. Use the form below. There shall be only one individuals’ name submitted per entry annually. The cost of the award shall be the responsibility of the VALA. The recipient shall be a member in good standing of VALA. By order of the Board of Directors of the VALA the award shall be in recognition of outstanding service to the assessment profession with over 6 years’ experience.

The Michael P. Cyrian Lister of the Year (LOTY) Award – Guidelines and Application

Previous Winners:

2020 – Howard Burgess – Rutland Town and Louise Ferris-Burt – Bethel
2019 – Pat McNall – Fairfax
2018 – Walter Hastings – Royalton
2017 – Sandra Clark – Londonderry
2016 – Janice Arnold – Grand Isle
2015 – Charlie mason – Pawlet
2014 – John Fike & Penny Allen, Reading
2013 – Susan Fletcher, Richford
2012 – Augusta (Gussie) Graves, Fayston
2011 – Randy Viens, Essex
2010 – Pat French, Randolph
2009 –
2008 –
2007 –
2006 –
2005 –
2004 –
2003 –
2002 – Elizabeth Brown – Dover
2001 – Thomas Vickery – Waterbury
2000 – David Ray – Derby
1999 – Ruth Heiser – Montgomery
1998 – Kenneth Southworth – West Fairlee
1997 – Mary Caryl – Hubbardton
1996 – Mitchell Harness – Bethel
1995 – Guy Winch – South Hero
1994 – Edward Autenreth – Pittsford
1993 – Maynard Wright – Randolph
1992 – Jean Conklin – Woodstock
1991 – Nancy Decker, Cecil White, Arthur Knox Sr. – Clarendon


Rising Star Award

This award is in honor of Steven Jeffrey, a past executive director of the Vermont League of Cities and Towns.  Steven promoted and encouraged good governance thru excellence in the individual offices and collectness of local government.  This award recognizes the successful nominee who has demonstrated early in his or her career a commitment to education and participating in Vermont’s Property Assessors Certification Program, participating in various VALA activities, assisting other members and working toward the realization of VALA’s mission. A nominee must have be a lister and/or assessor for 5 years or less and an active member of VALA. Previous winners of this award are not eligible.

The Steven Jeffrey Rising Star Award – Guidelines and Applicaiton


NRAAO Sherry Vermyla Award for Vermont

This is an annual award to acknowledge on the regional level excellence in real property assessment. At the NRAAO executive board meeting at Newton, Massachusetts in November, 1992 the NRAAO Awards Committee recommended that such award be known as the “Sherry Vermilya Award” for outstanding service to the assessment profession and in honor and memory of Sherry Vermilya’s support of NRAAO principles and his untiring efforts to assist assessors throughout the entire country and in particular the northeast.

Nominations Due by FEBRUARY 1st.

The Sherry Vermyla Memorial Award – Guidelines and Application